Racing Future is determined to inspire a new generation of fans to enjoy the sport of horse racing.

Horse Racing Japan: World All-Star Jockeys Challenge

The World All-Star Jockeys is an international event launched by the Japan Racing Association. Formerly called the World Super Jockeys Series since its establishment in 1987, it has welcomed more than 200 top-caliber jockeys from Europe, North America, Oceania and Asia and held on the last weekend of November or else first of December at either Tokyo or Hanshin Racecourse. The series has been altered in schedule and venue this year, and will be held on August 29th and 30th at Sapporo Racecourse on the northern island of Hokkaido.

The new edition of this event will welcome five outstanding jockeys from the United States, United Kingdom, France, Australia and Hong Kong to join seven JRA jockeys and two NAR (National Association of Racing; local public racing) jockeys in their bid for the title. A team competition will be added to the regular individual contest this year, in which the overseas and NAR jockeys will form “Team WAS (World All-Star)” and compete against “Team JRA” to attain the most points as a team.

The first two of the four-race series will be conducted on August 29th (Sat), while the third and fourth will be held the following day (Sun).

Current jockeys to be included are:

Joao Moreira

Russell Baze

Hayley Turner

Thierry Jarnet

Craig Williams

Mirco Demuro

Keita Tosaki

Yuichi Fukunaga

Masayoshi Ebina

Yasunari Iwata

Yuichi Shibayama

Yutaka Take

Koji Fujita

Yuji Iwahashi




Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.