Racing Future is determined to inspire a new generation of fans to enjoy the sport of horse racing.

Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup runs at Ascot on August 8th 2015

Shergar CupAt stake for the winning team is the magnificent Shergar Cup, which depicts the mighty 1981 Derby and King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes winner. It was graciously provided by His Highness The Aga Khan, who owned Shergar. Points will be awarded to the first five horses to finish in each of the six Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup races as follows - winner: 15 points; second: 10 points; third: 7 points; fourth: 5 points; fifth: 3 points. If there is a non-runner which cannot be replaced by a reserve, 4 points will be awarded both to the team and jockey missing out on the ride. The team with the most points after the six races have been run will receive the Shergar Cup at the closing ceremony.
If a dead-heat occurs in a race, the points for the two places are added together, divided by two and shared between the two jockeys/teams.
If there is a tie for the Team or Silver Saddle competitions, there will be a countback on the number of winners and the team/jockey with the most winners will be adjudged the winner overall; if they are still level, then second places will be counted, then if necessary third places, then if necessary fourth places. If they are still level, there will be joint winners.
The six races are worth a boosted total of £240,000 in prize money, paid down to 10th (last) place in all six races. With no entry fees to pay and £500 in number cloth sponsorship per contest for Channel 4-televised races, these are the only races run during the year in Britain when every owner represented by a runner should be guaranteed to, at the very least, cover their costs.
Silver Saddle
The jockey amassing the most individual points will take home an additional £3,000 plus the “Silver Saddle” trophy.
David Flores in 2001, Richard Hughes in 2002, Kieren Fallon in 2003, Weichong Marwing in 2004, Ryan Moore in 2006, Hugh Bowman in 2007, Gerald Mosse in 2008, Richard Hughes for a second time in 2009, Fran Berry in 2010, Paul Hanagan in 2011, Matthew Chadwick in 2012 and Gerald Mosse in 2013 are the past winners of the Silver Saddle.
Dubai Duty Free Ride Of The Day
One jockey will receive the Dubai Duty Free Ride Of The Day Award.


Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.