Racing Future is determined to inspire a new generation of fans to enjoy the sport of horse racing.

Non-Profits Get Day in Sun During Saratoga Meeting

Saratoga Community Outreach BoothThe New York Racing Association, Inc. will host more than 40 local non-profit organizations, schools and PTAs at Saratoga Race Course during the upcoming season, which begins on Friday, July 22 and runs through Labor Day, Monday, Sept. 5.

The majority of the non-profit organizations will be welcomed to the Community Outreach Booth, which is located next to the Jockey Silks Room and across from the Saratoga Walk of Fame. The Community Outreach Booth provides one non-profit organization per day with an exclusive opportunity to interact with the thousands of guests who visit Saratoga Race Course, share information about its work and host fundraising initiatives, which will include autograph sessions, musical performances, and arts and crafts, among other activities.

"The New York Racing Association has been a longtime friend and supporter of Saratoga Hospital, and organizations across the region," said Amy Raimo, Vice President, Community Engagement for Saratoga Hospital. "The Community Outreach Booth at Saratoga Race Course underscores the New York Racing Association's continued commitment to this community, and educating people about our region's dynamic non-profits, including our Mollie Wilmot Radiation Oncology Center. We'll be promoting our Cancer Patient Fund this year, which provides resources for patients to cover travel expenses, pay for wigs, or purchase special equipment not covered by insurance."

Additionally, seven area schools will have an opportunity to raise funds during Berkshire Bank Family Mondays throughout the season. Each Monday within the Saratoga Pavilion, presented by Time Warner Cable News, one school or PTA will serve as the designated beneficiary of a specific activity which will carry a suggested donation. The New York Racing Association and Berkshire Bank will provide matching grants. All other activities during Berkshire Bank Family Mondays will be free of charge.

"The New York Racing Association is honored to welcome a diverse array of non-profit organizations from across the region to Saratoga Race Course to help further their marketing, outreach and fundraising efforts," said Vanessa Rodriguez, manager of community affairs for the New York Racing Association. "We recognize how important these organizations are to those they serve and are pleased to assist them in building a stronger community."

The New York Racing Association will host the Saratoga Performing Arts Center (SPAC) at the Community Outreach Booth on Opening Day, Friday, July 22, in honor of its 50th anniversary season and again on Wednesday, Aug. 10, as SPAC pays tribute to its collaborative partnership with the New York Racing Association by hosting its own "TRACK & SPAC" event with the Philadelphia Orchestra.

Other featured organizations will include the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance on Whitney Day, Saturday, Aug. 6 and the Backstretch Employee Service Team on Travers Day, Saturday, Aug. 27. The New York Racing Association will host the Saratoga County Economic Opportunity Council (EOC) on Travers Eve, Friday, Aug. 26, for a canned food drive at the Community Outreach Booth.

"We are delighted to celebrate SPAC's 50th anniversary in partnership with the New York Racing Association," said Marcia J. White, President and Executive Director of SPAC. "We look forward to spending time at the community booth at Saratoga Race Course, and in turn, welcoming horse racing fans to SPAC for a 'Track & SPAC' performance by The Philadelphia Orchestra."

The following non-profit organizations are scheduled to appear at the Community Outreach Booth at Saratoga Race Course during the 2016 season

•Friday, July 22 — Saratoga Performing Arts Center

•Saturday, July 23 — SADS Foundation

•Sunday, July 24 — Saratoga Springs Figure Skating Club

•Monday, July 25 — Albany Police Athletic League

•Wednesday, July 27 — Watervliet Civic Chest

•Thursday, July 28 — Saratoga Regional YMCA

•Friday, July 29 — North Country Wild Care

•Saturday, July 30 — Permanently Disabled Jockey Fund

•Sunday, July 31 — Ladies of Charity-Diocese of Albany Saratoga Vicariate

•Monday, Aug. 1 — Commission on Economic Opportunity

•Wednesday, Aug. 3 — Saratoga Springs VFW

•Thursday, Aug. 4 — Thoroughbred Retirement Foundation

•Friday, Aug. 5 — Akindale Thoroughbred Rescue

•Saturday, Aug. 6 — Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance

•Sunday, Aug. 7 — Jewish War Veterans Post 36 Saratoga Springs

•Monday, Aug. 8 — The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society

•Wednesday, Aug. 10   Saratoga Performing Arts Center

•Thursday, Aug. 11 — Floyd Warriors

•Friday, Aug. 12 — Troy Boys & Girls Club

•Saturday, Aug. 13 — AIM Services, Inc.

•Sunday, Aug. 14 — Backstretch Employee Service Team

•Monday, Aug. 15 — Saratoga Hospital

•Wednesday, Aug. 17   Center for Disability Services

•Thursday, Aug. 18 — Dyer-Phelps

•Friday, Aug. 19 — Saratoga Bridges

•Saturday, Aug. 20 — Backstretch Employee Service Team and TheLustgarten Foundation

•Sunday, Aug. 21 — Ronald McDonald House Charities of the Capital Region

•Monday, Aug. 22 — Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Capital Region

•Wednesday, Aug. 24 — Racing City Chorus

•Thursday, Aug. 25 — Gallop NYC

•Friday, Aug. 26 — Saratoga County Economic Opportunity Council

•Saturday, Aug. 27 — Backstretch Employee Service Team

•Sunday, Aug. 28 — Team in Training, LLS

•Monday, Aug. 29 — Saratoga Springs Synchronized Skating Program

•Wednesday, Aug. 31 — The Wesley Foundation

•Thursday, Sept. 1 Habitat for Humanity

•Friday, Sept. 2 — Rerun Thoroughbred Adoption

•Saturday, Sept. 3 — Capital Region Toys for Tots Foundation

•Sunday, Sept. 4 — Living Resources

•Monday, Sept. 5 — Cohoes Connect Center for Youth

The New York Racing Association will welcome the following schools and PTAs to Berkshire Bank Family Mondays Brown School on July 25; Scotia-Glenville Education Foundation on Aug. 1; Chango Elementary School on Aug. 8; Skano Elementary School on Aug. 15; Stevens Elementary School on Aug. 22; Saratoga Academy on Aug. 29; and Saddlewood Elementary School on Sept. 5.

For more information about Saratoga Race Course, call (518) 584-6200 or visit www.nyra.com

-from www.nj.com

 

Comments

Add new comment

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.